Japanese sentence translation

Oo Suguri

Developing anime soul.
Trusted Member
Jun 19, 2014
Hello,
I am a beginner Japanese learner and I am trying to learn Japanese by analyzing every Japanese sentence in order to understand the grammar.

And here, this sentence that has been bugging me for a while...
海を追放されることに 何か理由があるかも

My Translation :
"To the thing that sea people get (are) punished, there is some reason to this..."

Question 1 : Why must the particle (に) be used and how does it give meaning to the sentence?
Question 2 : I am not very sure, but could it be (かも) is used to say "might" in Japanese?

Thank you.

Last edited:
Reactions: espiekerella
Hello,
I am a beginner Japanese learner and I am trying to learn Japanese by attempting to analyze every Japanese sentence (to understand the grammar).

海を追放されることに 何か理由があるかも

My Translation :
To the thing that sea people get (are) punished, there is some reason to this

Question 1 : Why must the particle (に) be used and how does it give meaning to the sentence?
Question 2 : I'm not very sure, but could it be (かも) is used to say "might" in Japanese?

Thanks.

A little correction. 追放 doesn't mean to punish.
追放 means to banish/exile/deport a person or to drive a harmful thing out.

Translation:
The banishment to the sea, there might be some reason behind it.
or
There might be some reason behind the banishment to the sea.

Answer 1 : In the case of verb いる or ある, the particle に is used to indicate the location of existence.

For example, テーブルの上リンゴあります。 = There are apples on the table.

This isn't limited to something physical though, as we can see in your sentence.

海を追放されること何か理由あるかも。
Here, 何か理由 (some reason) exists in 海を追放されること (banishment to the sea)

Answer 2 : Yes. かも is かもしれない shortened. It indicates the speaker's uncertainty.

Hope this helps. o/

Last edited:
Hello,
I am a beginner Japanese learner and I am trying to learn Japanese by attempting to analyze every Japanese sentence (to understand the grammar).