charge for making patches?

jenyjj

Sep 8, 2023
Hello, I am a manga translator and I love Otome games but as few know, those are in the native language (in my case Spanish)
the vast majority are in Japanese and English and although there are several tools to translate them such as textractor, etc. one always looks for convenience
Since I am a translator, I have taken on the task of learning some programming to be able to translate some games and it is not easy at all. I already have several projects in my sights but they require time and effort. If I did, what would be my motivation? Would it be okay to charge for doing the patch?
It's something I've been debating
Obviously the game does not belong to me, what I would charge is for the patch file, which I dedicated time and knowledge to.
On the other hand, the vast majority of patches that we find on the web are made by fans for fans for free, which makes me doubt if it would be good or not.
I read your comments and suggestions respectfully!

1704392266659.png

Last edited:
Your passion for translating manga and Otome games is admirable, and your willingness to learn programming to create translation patches shows dedication. However, before deciding to charge for your translation patches, there are some important considerations:

1. Intellectual Property Rights: Fan translations fall into a gray area of copyright law. They are usually done without the explicit permission of the copyright holders. If you decide to charge for your patches, you may attract unwanted legal attention from the original creators or publishers. This could lead to cease-and-desist orders or other legal actions against you.

2. Community Reception: In the fan translation community, there is a strong tradition of providing patches for free as a labor of love. Charging for patches might not be well-received by the community, and there's a risk that your paid patch would be distributed for free by others, undermining your efforts to monetize it.