Anti-Virus Software

pichu655889

Incompetent Teitoku
Elite Member
Sep 13, 2013
What kind of antivirus software do you guys use? I've been using McAfee which came pre-installed when I got my laptop but it's been lagging my whole computer down everytime I run a scan. Currently considering switching to AVG, but are there any other alternatives that you guys would recommend? Thanks for the help :)

On Windows, I use Avast (free version) for real-time scanning and MalwareBytes for periodic scanning. Both programs run pretty light (MB has a realtime scanner as well) compared to other anti-viruses.

I'm a Network Administrator etc and I would recommend using ESET NOD 32 http://www.eset.com/int/home/ Choose Smart Security. Its very good and highly recommended to use in a home environment and Networks as well. Also they update their virus database alot so they are always finding ways to fix the new viruses that hackers etc make. When I worked as a IT Techician building PCs I installed AVG on the systems but found out later it isnt as good as nod 32 because some anti virus programs put viruses on your computer to make sure you keep paying their products. Yes I know its very unethical for them to be doing it but its the real world.

Message me if you have any enquirys

~Excalibur

How CPU-intensive is it? My main concern with McAfee was that everytime I ran a scan on my computer, my Chrome and even the Windows taskbar would crash... Although I'm not sure if that is a direct cause by McAfee or there's something in between that causing it. Has anyone encountered similar problems before?

Its fine :) the program runs well when I have 30 tabs open in firefox lol. try it out and see how it is. Usually you scan your computer with nothing else running or sometimes a browser open depends really