[G] How to self study japanese!

Ahia

Trusted Member
Dec 10, 2012
Hello and welcome to this guide. I will like to point out I have no knowledge how to use the forum tools to make a proper guide. So if you want to you can help me format this and etc otherwise you guys would have to stick with the knowledge I know. Now that is out of the way time for explaining!

So I take it you guys want to learn Japanese but either too lazy or too afraid to commit time to it. Well too bad a good portion of your time will have to be re allocate here sadly but hey in return you can understand eroge without relying on translator. Or even score a job after this, I am sure in the future there will be people needed to help translate stuff and you might get paid!

1. Tools for learning

A flashcard type of system
  • Anki or www.memrise.com
  • Notepad (important)
  • Also checking the tip section for some help on memorization might be good

I recommend using Memrise due to my experience with it and I'll make a section on how to use it in this guide.

Dictionary of some sort to make sure you can figure out the meaning of the kanji or a sentence

2. Learning the core fundamental Skip if you know your Hiragana and katakana

You now decided to devote some time eh? This is a great time to show off the wonderful thing we call flashcards because it's amazing. Do beware you wont be able to handwrite Japanese this way, but you know how to type it and understand it this way.

So where to now? Well I have a few courses that I recommend. Provided you register on Memrise here are some courses I recommend you to take This course will pretty much set you up to hiragana Don't forget to set your keyboard to JP.
This course is for katakana

This should take you 2 weeks to master if you do this within your breaks or spare time. Or 2 days if you spent full time on these its pretty simple.

It is recommended that you stop reading here and come back until you are familiar with the basics.