Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Points: 65, Level: 1
    Points: 65, Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered

    Wireless network issue please help?

    Wireless network issue please help?
    I'm a complete noob at all this networking stuff so I will try my best to explain,Ok so I'm living in a sleep-out roughly 25 meters away from the main house where the wireless router is located and stationed which is connected to my parents desktop.Here in my sleepout I only get about 1-2 bars of wifi which usually cuts out and then resulting in me not having any internet at all ,ticks me off when I'm trying to download something and then it cut out all of a sudden(waste of bandwidth),anyway you might say get a long etherent cable out there which 1. is quite hard since you cant bury it in soil when its a concrete tiled courtyard to my sleepout and is a bit risky being exposed dangling in the air or prone to rain and that.and 2.I want to connect more than my laptop like my ipod touch and xbox 360 with inbuilt wifi to the internet at once,I don't want to folk out for a wireless range extender as I've heard they aren't the best and a kind of costly seen as I'm paying for everything and I'm just a teenager haha,also none of that poor mans wifi bullshit like making tin can satillites and what not.sooo I have resorted into a cheaper solution like purchasing another wireless router which only has to be pugged into power not a phoneline aswell.WHAT I"M REALLY WANTING TO KNOW IS HOW I WOULD SET THIS UP AND DOES IT REQUIRE THAT BOTH THE WIRELESS ROUTER IN THE MAIN HOUSE BE CONNECTED TO THE ONE I MIGHT PURCHASE TO GET WIFI IN MY ROOM? like do they have to be connected by a freaking long expensive Ethernet cable to be able to set this up please help I'm begging sorry I'm just really tired of not having internet in my room as my dad just says to me it's my problem and that I have to figure it out on my own.THANK YOU IN ADVANCE I REALLY WANT WIFI IN MY SLEEPOUT

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
     

  3. #2
    RL Siscon. Problem? orisa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    in ur base killin ur sp4mz
    Posts
    552
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 40 Times in 28 Posts
    Points: 9,736, Level: 66
    Points: 9,736, Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Three FriendsRecommendation Second ClassVeteran5000 Experience Points

    Re: Wireless network issue please help?

    I don't know what having 2 wireless router is going to do to improve your reception...they are merely hub point for hosting signals. Even if you get another one it still has to be connected to your parents' computer (the host) and you get the same connection.
    If you are trying to connect from outside the home where the router is located then you are naturally going to get a weak signal because the walls interfere the signal reception.

    If you don't want to get a repeater because they are pricey and don't want to use the internet in the main home then you'll need to try for non-technical solutions and hope for best, like making sure the router isn't placed close to a wall or any electronics that might cause interference (radio, phones, etc.).

    But yeah, as far as I know you'll need to fork out more money if you want the luxury of having full bars outside the host building (repeater, better ISP, your own connection, etc.), much more if you want to connect several devices at once. Maybe someone with more techie background can come up with an out of ordinary solution tho.
    Ignore This Signature

    Currently playing: Hyperdimension Neptunia Mk2 (PS3) / Dracu-Riot! (H)
    My Pixiv page~ (Last updated: 02/01/'12)

  4. #3
    I Am Admin, Hear Me Roar! corocoro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Under a Bridge
    Posts
    120,473
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 37,489 Times in 20,466 Posts
    Points: 1,769,880, Level: 100
    Points: 1,769,880, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger First ClassOverdriveThree FriendsYour first GroupRecommendation First Class50000 Experience Points

    Re: Wireless network issue please help?

    Options, sorted by ease and effectiveness:
    1. Get a Pringles can, build a directional antenna out of it, be content in the knowledge that it works better and more reliable than most antennae sold in stores.
    2. Get a repeater.
    3. Check out if the electrical wiring allows you to use DLAN.
    4. Get routers which can act as a repeater (usually more expensive than a normal repeater).
    5. Connect the routers via LAN cables.


    My recommendation is to change your pre-conceived conceptions about things, as you excluded the two best options and the third-best might not work. Seriously, the homebrew antennae are better than the store-bought ones here, especially since the ranges they reach are outside of the legal area.

  5. #4
    Member MasterOot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Points: 5,557, Level: 48
    Points: 5,557, Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Three FriendsRecommendation Second ClassVeteran5000 Experience Points

    Re: Wireless network issue please help?

    The most efficient solution would be getting repeaters of some sort to boost the signal. But efficient != cheap...

  6. #5
    Praetorem Kitsune
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    In the Final Frontier.
    Posts
    7,680
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 198 Times in 155 Posts
    Points: 38,932, Level: 100
    Points: 38,932, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    OverdriveThree FriendsCreated Album picturesTagger First Class25000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Re: Wireless network issue please help?

    I agree with Corocoro and MasterOot.

    Get a repeater.
    Ignore This Signature
    Re-upping and repairing game threads.
    Status: On hold.

    Filefactory available.
    Rapidgator dropped. Uploading to ul.to

  7. #6
    ピュア&イノセント Checkmate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Castle Groundgroup
    Posts
    6,627
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 5,216 Times in 823 Posts
    Points: 151,034, Level: 100
    Points: 151,034, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Three FriendsOverdriveRecommendation First ClassTagger Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Re: Wireless network issue please help?

    do they have to be connected by a freaking long expensive Ethernet cable to be able to set this up
    Ethernet cable is very cheap http://www.monoprice.com

    Buying wifi with repeater fuction will break you bank, but you can make do with 3rd party firmware - if you can find those router that do 3rd party frimware at all. Also, it is not guaranteed with wifi repeater at all

    I only post what I bought. My uploads are for those who share the same taste but could not easily import them. If you can buy the game, please do it to support the company.
    Bugs report belong to the Site Support, not my inbox.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Points: 65, Level: 1
    Points: 65, Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered

    Re: Wireless network issue please help?

    Quote Originally Posted by Checkmate View Post
    Ethernet cable is very cheap http://www.monoprice.com

    Buying wifi with repeater fuction will break you bank, but you can make do with 3rd party firmware - if you can find those router that do 3rd party frimware at all. Also, it is not guaranteed with wifi repeater at all
    hey thanks for all the great replies um I don't really know what everyone means about buying a repeater????
    I found out the two routers don't have to be connected by Ethernet cable.I actually posted this same post on a few other anime forums to get fast replies hehe.I found that the current wireless router which turns out to be a hybrid because it's a wireless router/modem in one.That is connected to my parents desktop computer which can't be shifted anyhow moving on I found when logging into the router ie: putting my ip address into the google URL address bar I found that it can be set up as a base station receiver hence being connected to a stationed computer makes sense.... then I ended up just buying a stand alone wireless router this morning off of a website for about $44.00 +$10.00 shipping fees all up $54.00 it said it can be used as a wireless range extender and should hopefully from what it seems support repeater mode as well.I think that I is a good price to pay because those repeater things I think if we're talking about the same thing I think it is cost a good couple of hundred here....It's a bit of a gamble if it doesn't work as I can't take back and I don't know if it has warranty not to much money to waste as my dad ended up paying for half of the cost anyway I will be sure to post in a couple of days saying if it worked or not just can't wait till it gets here uhhhhhh.......3 days!!!!!!! anyway cheers for all the help and support sorry for being quite rage In the first post was having a bad day lol

  9. #8
    I Am Admin, Hear Me Roar! corocoro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Under a Bridge
    Posts
    120,473
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 37,489 Times in 20,466 Posts
    Points: 1,769,880, Level: 100
    Points: 1,769,880, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger First ClassOverdriveThree FriendsYour first GroupRecommendation First Class50000 Experience Points

    Re: Wireless network issue please help?

    Quote Originally Posted by Naruto001 View Post
    then I ended up just buying a stand alone wireless router this morning off of a website for about $44.00 +$10.00 shipping fees all up $54.00 it said it can be used as a wireless range extender and should hopefully from what it seems support repeater mode as well.I think that I is a good price to pay because those repeater things I think if we're talking about the same thing I think it is cost a good couple of hundred here....
    Those are some messed up prices - a simple repeater here costs 20€ and a router with repeater function 40€ - meaning repeaters are only half the price.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Points: 65, Level: 1
    Points: 65, Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered

    Re: Wireless network issue please help?

    Quote Originally Posted by corocoro View Post
    Those are some messed up prices - a simple repeater here costs 20€ and a router with repeater function 40€ - meaning repeaters are only half the price.
    they must be pretty messed if they're selling them here for $413.23 ridiculous
    http://www.computerdirect.co.nz/prod....asp?KEY=13748

  11. #10
    I Am Admin, Hear Me Roar! corocoro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Under a Bridge
    Posts
    120,473
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 37,489 Times in 20,466 Posts
    Points: 1,769,880, Level: 100
    Points: 1,769,880, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger First ClassOverdriveThree FriendsYour first GroupRecommendation First Class50000 Experience Points

    Re: Wireless network issue please help?

    Wow. Just wow.
    Remember me not to shop for wireless components where you live.

    By the way, why an outdoor bridge instead of something like a TP-Link TL-WA730RE Repeater?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Help Needed] An Anime Playback Issue
    By nr345 in forum Tech Support and Talk
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: November 13th, 2011, 09:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •