Results 1 to 7 of 7
Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By Ren Nanase
  • 1 Post By pichu655889
  • 1 Post By Ren Nanase
  • 2 Post By FinalPyre
  • 1 Post By pichu655889

Thread: Why do you have to choose a resolution after editing a video?

  1. #1
    おわり GenKiDan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Aetas et Terra
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks
    249
    Thanked 416 Times in 290 Posts
    Points: 15,632, Level: 80
    Points: 15,632, Level: 80
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassThree Friends10000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Why do you have to choose a resolution after editing a video?

    Note: I wasn't quite sure whether to post this here on in the amw section.

    As the title says: Why do you have to choose a resolution after editing a video?

    The few times I've edited a video, I just want to trim a bit here and there perhaps, but it would ask me what format and resolution I want to save in, and it annoys me so. Cause I have no wish to change anything besides the actual trimming or whatever it is I've already done. And ofc there is no "original" saving option.
    I don't necessarily even know what the original resolution/bit rates ect is.

    So why is it like this, and how can I keep everything the same as the original video ?

    P.s. do me a favor ? and make a mention if you reply to this.
    Ignore This Signature
      Spoiler: Video Contest 2014 
    Video Contest Thread link
    [IMG]http://i.**********/ZAnRkJf.png[/IMG]

      Spoiler: Doom & Gloom; not the prettiest sig around: you been warned, click if you want. 
    And so, the destruction came. But how many saw it coming.
    War comes! But when they say Peace & Security, beware.
    [IMG]http://i.**********/I4HOaIj.jpg[/IMG]

    Know that I loved in a true way, know that I spoke in a true way and cared from the heart. Even if no one cares.
    FREE AT LAST

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Ren Nanase's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 89 Times in 49 Posts
    Points: 5,825, Level: 49
    Points: 5,825, Level: 49
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Three FriendsVeteran5000 Experience Points

    Re: Why do you have to choose a resolution after editing a video?

    Quote Originally Posted by GenKiDan View Post
    Note: I wasn't quite sure whether to post this here on in the amw section.

    As the title says: Why do you have to choose a resolution after editing a video?

    The few times I've edited a video, I just want to trim a bit here and there perhaps, but it would ask me what format and resolution I want to save in, and it annoys me so. Cause I have no wish to change anything besides the actual trimming or whatever it is I've already done. And ofc there is no "original" saving option.
    I don't necessarily even know what the original resolution/bit rates ect is.

    So why is it like this, and how can I keep everything the same as the original video ?

    P.s. do me a favor ? and make a mention if you reply to this.
    Depending what the format is you will have to re render the video to make the changes correctly.
    Can you please say what software you are using as it would make it alot easier to answer your question lol.
    GenKiDan likes this.
    Ignore This Signature
    [IMG]http://i.**********/6B4mGPC.png[/IMG]
    Sig and Avatar By Dark Angel

  4. #3
    Incompetent Teitoku pichu655889's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Windows 8.1
    Posts
    20,837
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 1,436 Times in 871 Posts
    Points: 53,249, Level: 100
    Points: 53,249, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Three FriendsTagger Second Class50000 Experience PointsVeteranRecommendation Second Class

    Re: Why do you have to choose a resolution after editing a video?

    Quote Originally Posted by GenKiDan
    Note: I wasn't quite sure whether to post this here on in the amw section.

    As the title says: Why do you have to choose a resolution after editing a video?

    The few times I've edited a video, I just want to trim a bit here and there perhaps, but it would ask me what format and resolution I want to save in, and it annoys me so. Cause I have no wish to change anything besides the actual trimming or whatever it is I've already done. And ofc there is no "original" saving option.
    I don't necessarily even know what the original resolution/bit rates ect is.

    So why is it like this, and how can I keep everything the same as the original video ?

    P.s. do me a favor ? and make a mention if you reply to this.
    You can view the properties of the video you are working with in Media Players like MPC or VLC, usually just right-click and there should be a "Properties" option, so just copy whatever properties you see listed there when saving/exporting your edited video. Also, like Ren said, it would help if you could state the software that you are using
    Last edited by pichu655889; October 22nd, 2013 at 05:07 AM. Reason: Sorry, how do you tag people using @
    GenKiDan likes this.

  5. #4
    おわり GenKiDan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Aetas et Terra
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks
    249
    Thanked 416 Times in 290 Posts
    Points: 15,632, Level: 80
    Points: 15,632, Level: 80
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassThree Friends10000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Re: Why do you have to choose a resolution after editing a video?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ren Nanase View Post
    Depending what the format is you will have to re render the video to make the changes correctly.
    Can you please say what software you are using as it would make it alot easier to answer your question lol.
    Quote Originally Posted by pichu655889 View Post
    You can view the properties of the video you are working with in Media Players like MPC or VLC, usually just right-click and there should be a "Properties" option, so just copy whatever properties you see listed there when saving/exporting your edited video. Also, like Ren said, it would help if you could state the software that you are using
    To you both, thanks, I'm a bit lost with these things, and if it isn't intuitive enough I sometimes end up being frustrated. This was something I remembered frustrated me a long time ago, like last year. Pretty sure it was just windows movie maker I was using ><

    There are usually too many options to choose from, and no explanations why one should pick one thing over the other I feel.
    Ignore This Signature
      Spoiler: Video Contest 2014 
    Video Contest Thread link
    [IMG]http://i.**********/ZAnRkJf.png[/IMG]

      Spoiler: Doom & Gloom; not the prettiest sig around: you been warned, click if you want. 
    And so, the destruction came. But how many saw it coming.
    War comes! But when they say Peace & Security, beware.
    [IMG]http://i.**********/I4HOaIj.jpg[/IMG]

    Know that I loved in a true way, know that I spoke in a true way and cared from the heart. Even if no one cares.
    FREE AT LAST

  6. #5
    Senior Member Ren Nanase's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 89 Times in 49 Posts
    Points: 5,825, Level: 49
    Points: 5,825, Level: 49
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Three FriendsVeteran5000 Experience Points

    Re: Why do you have to choose a resolution after editing a video?

    I think WMM only has bit rate and no size i am not sure as i dont tend to use it at all.
    Also forgot to ask what format the video is.

    VirtualDub allows you to cut sections out and do a direct stream save without any other changes but only really caters for AVI files.

    As with most other software you will have to render it as a specific size unless you choose the settings to use as the originals if not mistaken. Anyway find the default size of your videos and plan what the max size/resolution you can have.

    use Sony vegas to Cut out the sections of the videos you want down to the frame then add then add them into 1 video as you can edit many videos in it at once for bits and pieces then when you go to save it render it as your max resolution with a nice bitrate.

    Forgot to mention you may have to convert the videos to a readable format for sony vegas to see them.
    GenKiDan likes this.
    Ignore This Signature
    [IMG]http://i.**********/6B4mGPC.png[/IMG]
    Sig and Avatar By Dark Angel

  7. #6
    Old King Boredom FinalPyre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    The Nexus
    Age
    27
    Posts
    21,911
    Thanks
    169
    Thanked 555 Times in 394 Posts
    Points: 62,094, Level: 100
    Points: 62,094, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassThree Friends50000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Re: Why do you have to choose a resolution after editing a video?

    Yes. This is because in general you can't just chop off pieces of a video from the start or end and just save it like that. You are completely changing the encoding, so you have to re-encode it at the end. In general, just choose whatever resolution you had before (should be fairly obvious). It is called up-scaling when you choose a higher resolution than you had before (normally little point in doing this).

    The other very important thing is the bitrate. A good bitrate will vastly differ from what container and codecs you are choosing to render your video too, because they all apply different compression. A safe bet is too look at the properties of your video and see what the average bitrate of that was, and then either use that or bump it up a bit higher (assuming you are using the same container like mp4 or m2t or whatever).

    If you are using something professional like Sony Vegas or Final Cut, there will be a lot of options because people like to micro manage these things (myself included). If you want to learn about certain settings, you should look at your program's documentation (or whoever developed the setting).
    pichu655889 and GenKiDan like this.
    Ignore This Signature

  8. #7
    Incompetent Teitoku pichu655889's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Windows 8.1
    Posts
    20,837
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 1,436 Times in 871 Posts
    Points: 53,249, Level: 100
    Points: 53,249, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Three FriendsTagger Second Class50000 Experience PointsVeteranRecommendation Second Class

    Re: Why do you have to choose a resolution after editing a video?

    I think @FinalPyre's explanation is as good as it gets! To retain quality I think your best bet would be to copy your sources' properties and export. Or, you could do some reading on codecs and their respective properties to get a final video with better quality/smaller file size etc.!
    GenKiDan likes this.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Prodigy Omen - New style of Editing !!!
    By azazel sama in forum AMV
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 4th, 2013, 10:59 PM
  2. [Japanese] [木村屋いづみ] Video Letter [Kimuraya Idumi] Video Letter
    By Sugre in forum Hentai Manga
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 4th, 2013, 06:56 AM
  3. New Year's Resolution
    By Frankincense in forum Spam Section
    Replies: 93
    Last Post: February 19th, 2013, 10:56 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 25th, 2012, 11:13 AM
  5. Non-standard Resolution
    By alexsdu in forum Tech Support and Talk
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: March 29th, 2012, 01:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •