Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Points: 2,026, Level: 27
    Points: 2,026, Level: 27
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    little help with LAN and VMs

    so can someone please give me a little help with this:
    The Situation: I Use a VM to test(cause i download most of my games and viruzes are bitches) games and por- OTHER THINGS! but my flash drive recently just went Write protected all of a sudden!, now i have downloaded an iso file that i would like to test but i have no way of passing (or putting not sure wich verb i should use here) the file in the VM.
    What i think would be The Solution (i need help with it): Simply create a LAN connection between my desktop and the VM, but since this particular VM is full of malwareS (the capital S is to emphasize the idea of plural in that particular word) i would like to know if it is possible to create a "one way only" network where my VM can receive data but not send it, so is it possible? does anyone have any other possible idea to put the ISO file (and probably other files cause i am short in cash so i cant by another flash drive right now(flash drives are unexpectedly expensive in Brazil, like a PS4" but way cheaper) in the VM?

    PS: I have a Router, minimal knowledge about networks, beatiful light brown eyes and a lot of free time (damn jobs are hard to find...)
    Ignore This Signature
    "Deus Ajuda Quem Cedo Madruga"

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
     

  3. #2
    ピュア&イノセント Checkmate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Castle Groundgroup
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 5,220 Times in 826 Posts
    Points: 151,350, Level: 100
    Points: 151,350, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Three FriendsOverdriveRecommendation First ClassTagger Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Re: little help with LAN and VMs

    what are the VM softare you're using? For example, I'm using VMWare Workstation.

    I only post what I bought. My uploads are for those who share the same taste but could not easily import them. If you can buy the game, please do it to support the company.
    Bugs report belong to the Site Support, not my inbox.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Points: 2,026, Level: 27
    Points: 2,026, Level: 27
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Re: little help with LAN and VMs

    I use Virtualbox
    Ignore This Signature
    "Deus Ajuda Quem Cedo Madruga"

  5. #4
    ピュア&イノセント Checkmate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Castle Groundgroup
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 5,220 Times in 826 Posts
    Points: 151,350, Level: 100
    Points: 151,350, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Three FriendsOverdriveRecommendation First ClassTagger Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Re: little help with LAN and VMs

    you can try the mount the vdi (hard disk file in virtualbox)

    off googling I got this, there might be better solution out there: https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?t=4748

    Personally I prefer VMWare Workstation.

    I only post what I bought. My uploads are for those who share the same taste but could not easily import them. If you can buy the game, please do it to support the company.
    Bugs report belong to the Site Support, not my inbox.

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Points: 2,026, Level: 27
    Points: 2,026, Level: 27
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Re: little help with LAN and VMs

    i will try VMWare Workstation, but mounting the VDI wont i get in trouble if i acess an infected file?
    Ignore This Signature
    "Deus Ajuda Quem Cedo Madruga"

  7. #6
    ピュア&イノセント Checkmate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Castle Groundgroup
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 5,220 Times in 826 Posts
    Points: 151,350, Level: 100
    Points: 151,350, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Three FriendsOverdriveRecommendation First ClassTagger Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Re: little help with LAN and VMs

    no, unless you execute it in your host. A host means the baremetal pc you're running, a guest is your vm.

    Basically you just mount the vdi, then transfer the iso, then demount the vdi.

    I only post what I bought. My uploads are for those who share the same taste but could not easily import them. If you can buy the game, please do it to support the company.
    Bugs report belong to the Site Support, not my inbox.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Checkmate For This Useful Post:


  9. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Points: 2,026, Level: 27
    Points: 2,026, Level: 27
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Re: little help with LAN and VMs

    i see! thats a good idea, gonna try that out!
    Ignore This Signature
    "Deus Ajuda Quem Cedo Madruga"

  10. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Points: 2,026, Level: 27
    Points: 2,026, Level: 27
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Re: little help with LAN and VMs

    btw now i got kinda interested (BTW i tried to mount the VDI but my VDI is "dinamic alocated" so i apparently cant do that), not to solve my problem but does someone knows if there is that kind of LAN? (where some machines can only receive and not send data?) (sorry for the double post)
    Ignore This Signature
    "Deus Ajuda Quem Cedo Madruga"

  11. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 75 Times in 28 Posts
    Points: 5,223, Level: 46
    Points: 5,223, Level: 46
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Re: little help with LAN and VMs

    I don't think you have the equipment for that. As far as I know I don't think your router has ACL on it. There might be a function similar but I doubt it. Or maybe there's a software emulator you might wanna try your search there. But in the end, I think if you wanna make some host only receive your best bet might be a cheap business class router or switch and configure ACL in it.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Ahia For This Useful Post:


  13. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Points: 2,026, Level: 27
    Points: 2,026, Level: 27
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Re: little help with LAN and VMs

    well i did find this "client Filter" thing, but it is very limited here is a pic
      Spoiler: BigImage 
    ("ambos" means "both"), i look what UDP means and maybe it could fit my intended use? (since it doesnt confirm the end of packages i imagine it doesnt send data unless the user delibaretedly(if that is a word) wants to, right?)
    Last edited by ThirtyFiveAdams; January 2nd, 2014 at 02:22 AM.
    Ignore This Signature
    "Deus Ajuda Quem Cedo Madruga"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •