Results 1 to 9 of 9
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By HatoriTakaya
  • 1 Post By HatoriTakaya

Thread: Double OS

  1. #1
    Mein 3D Waifu alexsdu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    KCH, SWK, MY, SEA
    Posts
    8,960
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 235 Times in 192 Posts
    Points: 26,585, Level: 97
    Points: 26,585, Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Three FriendsRecommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points

    Double OS

    So...there was I, helping formatting my friend's laptop, an Acer Aspire 5050 series.

    To cut story short, I accidentally installed 2 Windows XP Pro OS into it.
    Is there any way to delete one of the OS without having to reformat it again?
    Ignore This Signature
    [IMG]http://i.**********/sxNIYJZ.gif?1[/IMG]

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many
     

  3. #2
    Praetorem Kitsune
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    In the Final Frontier.
    Posts
    7,680
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 198 Times in 155 Posts
    Points: 38,932, Level: 100
    Points: 38,932, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    OverdriveThree FriendsCreated Album picturesTagger First Class25000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Re: Double OS

    Hey Alex,

    I don't know how to remove one XP pro without reformatting...But I know how to get the computer to boot with just one OS.

    You can go into the boot loader.ini file (just right click on the "my computer" option in the start menu and hit "properties". Then go to: Advanced --> Startup and Recov. --> Settings. Then just hit the "edit" button under the system startup section. Then you can manually remove whichever OS string you want.

    1.JPG

    Or you can simply just back up whatever you need, then delete all partitions created by the installation and reformat the drive.
    Ignore This Signature
    Re-upping and repairing game threads.
    Status: On hold.

    Filefactory available.
    Rapidgator dropped. Uploading to ul.to

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Will98 For This Useful Post:


  5. #3
    Destiny Awaits. HatoriTakaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Close to JP GMT +9 Time Zone. However not at JP atm.
    Posts
    1,105
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 291 Times in 156 Posts
    Points: 9,284, Level: 64
    Points: 9,284, Level: 64
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassThree Friends5000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Re: Double OS

    Quote Originally Posted by alexsdu View Post
    So...there was I, helping formatting my friend's laptop, an Acer Aspire 5050 series.

    To cut story short, I accidentally installed 2 Windows XP Pro OS into it.
    Is there any way to delete one of the OS without having to reformat it again?
    For future reference, make a separate partition for the OS next time you install it. That way you can format the OS partition while retaining the data that is on a separate partition, saving you time and well data in the process.

    For the Double OS problem, just save the important data on a external drive if you have one or burn it on a DVD then format it. It's better to have a clean laptop than have problems later on that the user may have due to inconsistencies of the current situation. I would imagine that now days laptops would have a maximum of 2 TB and a minimum of 500 GB. Just save yourself the trouble of encountering future problems by doing a clean installation after backing your precious data.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to HatoriTakaya For This Useful Post:


  7. #4
    Mein 3D Waifu alexsdu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    KCH, SWK, MY, SEA
    Posts
    8,960
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 235 Times in 192 Posts
    Points: 26,585, Level: 97
    Points: 26,585, Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Three FriendsRecommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points

    Re: Double OS

    Thanks, mate. I'll do that.
    It's just that I'm kinda lazy to reinstall OS.
    The laptop got some serious issue, it can't detect mouse, so I had to use the touchpad. And now, the touchpad not functioning and so does the keyboard - during Windows setting.
    FYI, before I post this topic, I've reinstalled the Windows like 4 times, b'coz of the touchpad & keyboard problem.
    Ignore This Signature
    [IMG]http://i.**********/sxNIYJZ.gif?1[/IMG]

  8. #5
    Destiny Awaits. HatoriTakaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Close to JP GMT +9 Time Zone. However not at JP atm.
    Posts
    1,105
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 291 Times in 156 Posts
    Points: 9,284, Level: 64
    Points: 9,284, Level: 64
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassThree Friends5000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Re: Double OS

    What was the original OS of the laptop? Usually from what I remember, there should be a hidden partition that carries all the laptop drivers and original OS, in case it needs to be reinstalled. With that said, I only have a Toshiba and Levono on me at the moment as a laptop. I assume that the laptop has it own drivers to make it work.

    Give me a hour or two to research your laptop. I'm sure there was a Window XP all-in-one drivers installation CD. If there's a driver CD that came with the laptop, try using it. If you're experienced in Linux, try booting it off a USB key in the meantime to see if the keyboard or mouse works there.

    ATTENTION:

    Can you please try go into Safe Mode from the boot-up screen with the F8 key and check if the touch pad and keyboard works. It will help determine if there's a hidden issue at fault via the drivers.
    Last edited by HatoriTakaya; May 15th, 2012 at 06:38 AM.

  9. #6
    Mein 3D Waifu alexsdu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    KCH, SWK, MY, SEA
    Posts
    8,960
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 235 Times in 192 Posts
    Points: 26,585, Level: 97
    Points: 26,585, Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Three FriendsRecommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points

    Re: Double OS

    The laptop was kinda old, so he don't have the installation disc that were came along with the laptop. So I use an Windows installation disc from other Acer computer, that can be use on any Acer PC/laptop.

    Anyway, I've backup all the important files, and formatted the whole HDD(it got 2 partitions).
    I guess the safer way is to format and reinstall the OS, considering how screwed the laptop already have.


    *I never like laptop.
    Ignore This Signature
    [IMG]http://i.**********/sxNIYJZ.gif?1[/IMG]

  10. #7
    Destiny Awaits. HatoriTakaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Close to JP GMT +9 Time Zone. However not at JP atm.
    Posts
    1,105
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 291 Times in 156 Posts
    Points: 9,284, Level: 64
    Points: 9,284, Level: 64
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassThree Friends5000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Re: Double OS

    Alright, use the smaller partition (hopefully it has 40 GB or more as a OS partition) to install the OS. If it's Window XP then it'll do, window 7 usually heavier in terms of load on your model most likely. Once you have completed your installation of the OS, there's numerous way to debug the problem. It's probably best to test each one out to see where the true problem lies.

    This link talks how the laptop battery may be the cause:
    http://www.fixya.com/support/t108571...0_touchpad_not

    In short:

    1) Followed the acer website link and downloaded the appropriate keypad drivers by looking for Aspire 5050 (5050 is the model)
    (Try the main site and see if they have your model drivers. If not, you can try this one: http://driverscollection.com/?H=Aspire%205050&By=ACER)

    2) Put it on a pin drive.

    2.5) Unplugged the acer 5050 battery and still allowed the power cord to be plugged in (in effort to save time)

    3) booted the acer 5050 laptop and kept hitting F8 to go into safe mode

    4) logged into safe mode as 'Admin' and ran the setup from the drivers after inserting the pin drive.

    5) shutdown windows

    6) plugged the battery back in, turned the power on, everything works fine.


    Second reason could be particular updates are interfering your laptop operations. But for now, let's try the drivers and battery approach to solve the problem.

    Here's another site with a collection of drivers.
    http://www.nodevice.com/driver/Aspir.../get71493.html

    Please scan it for viruses and check it for malware before installing anything.
    Last edited by HatoriTakaya; May 15th, 2012 at 11:40 AM.
    alexsdu likes this.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to HatoriTakaya For This Useful Post:


  12. #8
    Mein 3D Waifu alexsdu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    KCH, SWK, MY, SEA
    Posts
    8,960
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 235 Times in 192 Posts
    Points: 26,585, Level: 97
    Points: 26,585, Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Three FriendsRecommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points

    Re: Double OS

    Wow, to think that all these problem came from the battery. Totally mind boggling.
    I thought it was some software problem, but never thought that the battery was the culprit.
    Thanks.
    Ignore This Signature
    [IMG]http://i.**********/sxNIYJZ.gif?1[/IMG]

  13. #9
    Destiny Awaits. HatoriTakaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Close to JP GMT +9 Time Zone. However not at JP atm.
    Posts
    1,105
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 291 Times in 156 Posts
    Points: 9,284, Level: 64
    Points: 9,284, Level: 64
    Overall activity: 0%
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassThree Friends5000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Re: Double OS

    Well it's too early to celebrate. Just make sure the culprit is the battery and if it is... well at least it has been solved. If there's any more problems or it's not the battery fault, just reply in the same thread and I'll see if I am able to assist you in the matter.
    alexsdu likes this.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Re: [Hiryuu] Double-J 03
    By corocoro in forum Graveyard
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 14th, 2011, 09:59 PM
  2. Double-J
    By corocoro in forum Anime Talk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 11th, 2011, 11:45 AM
  3. Re: [Hiryuu] Double-J 02
    By corocoro in forum Graveyard
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 7th, 2011, 06:22 PM
  4. [720p] [Hiryuu] Double-J
    By corocoro in forum Graveyard
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 29th, 2011, 10:06 PM
  5. Futagami Double
    By Fuyuiro in forum Graveyard
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 17th, 2010, 05:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •