Build or Buy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perplexing

Elite Member
Elite Member
Jul 26, 2011
Do you build or buy your computer? When I got my first computer it was a Dell Opti-piece-of-crap-plex. I soon moved up in the world and got a Compaq Presario....... yeah I know just as worthless as a Dell.

After that I decided to build a PC which back then I was a noob as you could get. After my first build with a kick ass Pentium 4 @3GHz I was hooked on building them. Since then I've built 4 PCs for myself and numerous others for friends and family.

I'll never buy when I can build a PC.

If you got money to burn, I suggest buy. But you can set the spec for the computer.
There are many computer company/store that built computer that are primary role is for gaming.

If you got the knowledge and confident to build your own gaming rig, then by all mean, go for it.
This option also suitable for people that have limited budget but wanna built a decent yet powerful PC.

Well, that's my $0.02(+ tax) opinion.

Built. Knew very little going in, got some help from (internet) friends on double checking that all the parts would work, assembled it mainly using the markings on the mobo and it's instruction guide. One year later and it still is rather kickass, and I have no need to upgrade it yet.

I've never bought any pre-built computer, because my family is poor. I learn to use the money in the most effective way.

Though for once I had bought a HP Server for my corporation, it costs more 3 times than the build option, but it was the first time of my life that I bite the bullet and trust their stuff.

Wasn't too long (2 years) before the mainboard fried everything, including 2 RAID10 Array in it, we had off-site backup but the incident brought us 2 days back to the pen and paper age.