Anyone play older VNs and Eroge on Windows 10? I want to upgrade but I'm nervous about being unable to play some of the classics

ForbiddenOne

Elite Member
Oct 9, 2011
I've had some bad experiences with some older games no longer working even in compatibility mode once I've upgraded to a newer version of windows, and I just thought I'd ask.

First of all, let's take in count some facts we learned when we jumped to Windows 7:
- The old games, really old games (The ones for Windows 95/98/Me or older) don't work at all or worked a little or sometimes had issues(graphical, sound broken,...).
- The less older games, designed for Windows XP or near that, most of them we can make them work, but there's lot of exceptions and a lot that work more or less or working bad, having to apply patches.

And then people started moving to Windows 8, knowing that there were issues already with games on Win 7 with old games, and not so old (2006-2007 and after). So we got less compatibility with them.

Finally, people moved to Windows 10, and a lot of people have problems with old games and not so old, and game cracks/no-CD executables that doesen't even function.

So, if you're planning to play an old game, i suggest for all of you to have a Win 7 on the same PC(if you want something that still it's a not-too-old OS), or here's another way:
- Buy the remastered/HD versions of the game, or download the ones that have surfaced on the net, of course. There are some games that have got their HD version or a newer version compatible but haven't got released on the open net, so you'll have to think to spend money on them in order to play it.

If not: