吉原彼岸花 - yoshiwara higanbana - translation

lucidlies

Trusted Member
Nov 29, 2019
Hey there,

I've been learning Japanese on and off for the last ~10 years but I'm looking to get better so I decided to get some practice in and translate an otome. My skills are so-so and I'm no where near being fluent but this community has been amazing and I wanted to give back so here we are.

Currently, I've put up about 3/4 of the intro up on VNR.

It's a little labourous and not only is kanji not my strong suit, I'm translating as I'm playing so I can't really give you an estimate of when it'll be done. But I'm planning on going through the routes one at a time, starting with Sakuya. I can't claim that it'll be perfect and that there won't be any mistakes but I'll do my best so that everything makes sense/is as correct as my skillset allows.

I know some lines have already been translated by others but I only found that out after I already started lol. I hope I'm not stepping on any toes by contributing! Please let me know if I am and I'll remove what I've already put up.

A special thanks to @MilkyBarKid for uploading the game!

Last edited:
Reactions: micarich
You're welcome, lucidlies!

Yoshiwara Higanbana does try to be more authentic with the language used in at the time compared to other VNs of the Edo period so I'll bet the kanji is more challenging.

Translating even on a professional level is time-consuming and challenging so good on you for giving back.

I'm sorry to say I can't offer much advice on VNR as I've never used it before!

You're welcome, lucidlies!

Yoshiwara Higanbana does try to be more authentic with the language used in at the time compared to other VNs of the Edo period so I'll bet the kanji is more challenging.

Translating even on a professional level is time-consuming and challenging so good on you for giving back.

I'm sorry to say I can't offer much advice on VNR as I've never used it before!