[Grammar] Verbs (動詞)

pichu655889

Incompetent Teitoku
Elite Member
Sep 13, 2013
Hello! I'm studying for a Japanese exam next year and I thought, why not share my notes with everyone?
I'm sure there are a thousand more similar guides out there on the internet but hey, it doesn't hurt to add one more!
Do note, however, that these are the notes of a student and may not be entirely accurate in terms of grammatical terms used (Present tense, Past tense that kind of thing) and may contain inaccuracies/misconceptions. If you spot any mistakes feel free to tell me and I hope that these would be helpful to someone!

I intend to add and edit slowly over time as I add on to my notes.

• This can be thought of as the basic form of verbs. Verbs are split into 3 groups: Group I, Group II and Group III.

Group I
    Dictionary Form/Plain Form Affirmative Form (Polite) Meaning
    買う (かう) 買います (かいます) buy
    待つ (まつ) 待ちます (まちます) wait
    治る (なおる) 治ります (なおります) heal
    読む (よむ) 読みます (よみます) read
    運ぶ (はこぶ) 運びます (はこびます) carry
    死ぬ (しぬ) 死にます (しにます) die
    書く (かく) 書きます (かきます) write
    泳ぐ (およぐ) 泳ぎます (およぎます) swim
    話す (はなす) 話します (はなします) speak

To transform Group I verbs from their Dictionary Form to their Polite Form, replace the -u hiragana at the end of the verb with the -i hiragana of the same column (see hiragana table below), and add ます after that.

買う → 買 + い + ます → 買います

Group II
    Dictionary Form Affirmative Form (Polite) Meaning
    食べる (たべる) 食べます (たべます) eat
    起きる (おきる) 起きます (おきます) wake up

Verbs are generally in Group II if they end with -iru or -eru.
    *However, there are exceptions, such as the verb 帰る (かえる), which ends with -eru but is a Group I verb: 帰る (かえる) → 帰ります (かえります).

To change a Group II verb into its Polite Form, simply replace the る at the end of the verb with ます.

食べる → 食べ + ます → 食べます

Group III
    Dictionary Form Affirmative Form (Polite) Meaning
    する します do
    来る (くる) 来ます (きます) come
    勉強する (べんきょうする) 勉強します (べんきょうします) study