noob here halp

kactaplb

ASL Slave MkII
Trusted Member
Nov 12, 2011
so. yes. me drawing ahahhaha. Started out as a funny idea, but surprisingly enjoying, if not for the busy work. ugh that shading. Anyways, complete noob here, any criticism appreciated. And tips. No idea what sort of supplies I need. For now I'd like to stay away from Photo Shop/cg and solely do pencil drawings. Also, I don't have a technique per say. I do a quick rough sketch with proportions and then on another card stock I just have at it.

I don't have a scanner, and I can't find my camera. Terrible phone camera is go. I'll upload more/better quality later.

I had a reference for most of these, credit where credit is due lazy.jpg.

Last edited:
Well just wanna say it looks good for a starter :3
I drew actually very similar to your style xD Reminiscing~~~
Well i so far like it. Seems like at the moment you like drawing portrait. Add some attitude with your style to spice things up >:D

Reactions: kactaplb
I would start off by drawing without using any references at all just to see where my drawing abilities actually stand.
Just think up of a pose and a basic character and draw out of your head (full figure).
I would then identify what I need the most work on and work on improving them one at a time.

As for supplies, it's good to have a little wooden mannequin on your desk to give you visualization of a pose. Most art stores sell them.
For pencils I suggest Staedtler's Luminograph series. You can find a pack of 4, which includes pencils from HB~4B.
Make sure you have a good eraser if you expect to work with your pencils a lot. Get one of those pen-type eraser heads that don't hurt your paper. I've had a lot of bad experiences where erasing too many times with a regular eraser ruined my otherwise eligible drawings.
Last but not least, music befitting to the theme of your drawing. You'll be amazed at how much difference it can make.