Where do you guys come from and where are you living now?

Flamingoat

Jan 30, 2018
I was wondering where are you all folks from. I'd assume a large part of users is from the States, but many of you are discussing so broadly about Japan I should assume you're living there. Is my assumption correct? I think I saw a 4th year Japan college student out here. It makes me interested since I want to study in Japan too.

There are several translations available on the forum rules thread, but have we really got such a large user base? But, there are even Japanese and Vietnamese translations, I cannot imagine people coming from Asia talking in a mainly English forum (not enough to make someone translate the rules into Asian languages, anyway). I really have no idea what this forum is like, so this makes me even more curious.

My question is: what country are you originally from and in which country are you currently living in?
I'm a student in Europe.

Sharing western content is prohibited on this website, so personally I'm not surprised at all that there are many Asian members here. A lot of content which is shared here isn't translated into English. English is a world language, so many Asian people know it to some extent. Personally I'm from Kazakhstan, so I'm an Asian too, and I studied English at school. I can say that English is the most popular second language studied in my country and I know that it is studied in Korea and Japan too. It doesn't mean that everyone who studied it at school is a fluent speaker (people around me are surprised that I can read and speak English fluently), but it still gives a certain basic knowledge which allows to understand and use it to some degree, especially with a help of dictionaries.